Skip to Main Content
San Felipe Del Rio Logo

San Felipe Del Rio
CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Banner Image

Department of Instruction

San Felipe Del Rio CISD

Del Rio , TX 428002

Phone: (830) 778-4010
Fax: (830) 778-9960

Aida V. Gomez

Chief Instructional Officer
aida.gomez@sfdr-cisd.org

Cynthia Salas

Director of Curriculum and Instruction
cynthia.salas@sfdr-cisd.org

Jorge Limon

Elementary Curriculum Coordinator
jorge.limon@sfdr-cisd.org

Michelle Gonzalez

Early Literacy Coordinator
michelle.gonzalez@sfdr-cisd.org

Karen Shafer

Staff Development & Advance Academics Coordinator
karen.shafer@sfdr-cisd.org

Laura Sandate

Secondary Curriculum Coordinator
laura.sandate@sfdr-cisd.org

Erika Varela

Secondary Curriculum Coordinator
erika.varela@sfdr-cisd.org

Grace Westlake

Bilingual/ESL Curriculum Coordinator
griselda.westlake@sfdr-cisd.org

Angelica P. Sanchez

System Wide Testing Coordinator - DTC
angelica.sanchez@sfdr-cisd.org

Rocio Pena

Academic Achievement Specialist
rocio.pena@sfdr-cisd.org

Paloma Faz

Instructional Officers' Secretary
paloma.faz@sfdr-cisd.org

Velma Martinez

C&I Director's Secretary
velma.martinez@sfdr-cisd.org

Martha E. Sanchez

C&I Secretary
martha.sanchez@sfdr-cisd.org

Bonnie Beloz

C&I Secretary
bonnie.beloz@sfdr-cisd.org

 

Our Focus

The Department of Curriculum and Instruction's goal is to ensure access to a guaranteed and viable curriculum in order to promote lifelong learners.  To ensure that every child is provided this guarantee, SFDRCISD and the Department of Curriculum and Instruction have implemented a district led reform -- The Planning Protocol.

The Planning Protocol

The Planning Protocol (starting with the end in mind) is a research-based approach to plan for and deliver authentic instruction.  Because we believe that good teaching does not happen by chance, but through a well thought-out plan, the planning is at the forefront of every lesson developed and delivered. The Planning Protocol allows opportunities for conversations, study of data (DMAC) and the development of planning tools for instructional delivery that is consistent across our seven elementary campuses and on through our secondary campuses. The main goal is to produce kids that are college and career ready.

To support and promote the use of research-based best practices, SFDRCISD teachers have been provided a daily common planning time. Led by instructional coaches and campus instructional leaders, teacher use a common lesson-planning tool to begin the collaboration amongst the teachers for developing engaging and rigorous lessons that address the needs of all learners.

SFDRCISD utilizes the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) as the standards that drive instruction. The TEKS Resource System (TRS) is the resource that teachers are required to use for the core content areas (English, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies) that includes TEKS Verification Documents, the Instructional Focus Documents (IFD), Year-at-a-Glance (YAG) and Verical Alignment Documents (VAD).