Skip to Main Content
San Felipe Del Rio Logo

San Felipe Del Rio


CTE Media Tech Program - Frontera Film Festival Winners

On May 3 and 4, the CTE media students attended the 10th annual Frontera Film Festival in Eagle Pass, TX with media instructors, Jessica Guanajuato, Roberto Rodriguez, and Raul Hurtado. Friday’s event was held at the Victorian House downtown venue. The event started off with a presentation by KSAT 12 News Reporter, Sarah Acosta, who offered advice and insight into the film and television profession. Live music and a video presentation honoring the student participants for the past 10 years of the festival ended the night. On Saturday, the event was held at the Eagle Pass Public Library where students watched the films sent in from other schools and heard presentations by prop masters and independent production companies. Over 10 schools participated this year and over 186 video submissions were judged. Before the awards a karaoke contest was held and a special prize was awarded for best film poster design, which went to Del Rio High School’s Camila Flores for her poster for her music video “The Beach.” In the film categories, Del Rio High School walked away with a total of 17 wins in the following areas:

1st place - Camila Flores for “Turn it Off”
2nd place - Donald Schultz for “Cybersecurity”
3rd place - Emilia Reyes for “Identity Theft”

1st place - Esli Martinez for “Spirited”
2nd place - Alana Cassio for “Travel into My Creation”

3rd place - Emilia Reyes for “Take Care of Texas”

3rd place - Zeke Chavez for “Apple”

1st - Angel Briones for “Lucid Ducks”

Narrative 2-5
3rd - Bradley Barrera for “One Way Out”

Narrative 8-12
3rd - Donald Schultz for “The Bystander”

Narrative 5-8
2nd - Catina Flores for “Love of My Life”

1st - Donald Schultz for “The Nutcracker Ballet”
2nd - Aleah Hernandez for “Art”

Music Video
1st - Camila Flores for “The Beach”
2nd - Orion Gonzalez for “How it Goes”

Narrative 30-2
2nd - Asaf Figueiras for “Distracted”

Special Recognition Award
Best Actress - Camila Flores for her performance in “The Bystander”