Skip to Main Content
San Felipe Del Rio Logo

San Felipe Del Rio

Banner Image
Contact Information

SFDR CISD Education Foundation

TID# 46-0806791

P.O. Box 428002
Del Rio , TX 78842-8002


Founding Members

Belinda Reyes
David Ortiz
Dr. Carlos Rios
Terry F. Martinez
Sylvia Owens

Emily Cooper
Roberto Chavira
Roberto "Bobby" Fernandez
Janet Johnson
Griselda Martinez
Linda Rittermeyer
Aaron Rodriguez
Marta Galindo

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.

Nelson Mandela


This foundation was created with a vision and a specific purpose by our very own School Board. It was founded on the basic principles that, with the help of our community, we can have a significant impact on the education in the community that we live in and work. This includes both teachers and students. The purpose of the foundation is twofold:

  1. To provide scholarships to the students in our community that exhibit leadership, drive, and the true desire to be successful as they continue their education. And,
  2. To provide access to grants for the teachers in our district that want to expand their scope of instruction in and out of the classroom, as well as "think outside the box" in their methods of teaching.

We want to encourage initiative and creative thinking, as well as reward those who have the work ethic and determination that we strive to instill in all of our students and staff. 


How do we accomplish this?

  • Informing the Community and Staff of SFDRCISD
  • Fundraising Efforts
  • Reaching out to alumni through various forms of social media – Facebook, Email, Class Donations
  • Grants
  • Through estate planning efforts and charitable contributions that are tax efficient
An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.Benjamin FranklinThe Foundation, with tremendous community support, was able to triple its grant awards for the 2015 – 2016 school year.  With deepest appreciation for all dinner sponsors and guests, the Foundation is proud to announce this year’s “Innovative Teaching Grant” award winners.  Pictured below with Foundation Board members, they are:  
From left, Front row:  F. David Ortiz, Board president; Billie Cruz, Patricia Villarreal, & Belinda Hernandez, Lamar Elementary; Patricia Bautista, Bonita Gonzalez, Michelle Padilla, & Beatrice De Leon, Del Rio High School; Erendira Vivano-Neylon, Calderon Elementary.  Back row:  Dr. Carlos H. Rios, Board secretary; Emily Cooper & Janet Johnson, Board members; Arthur Thomas, Cacedra Jordan, & Crystal Layne, Del Rio High School; Roberto Chavira, Board member
Thank you all for your dedication to your profession and to our children!  
Intelligence plus character--that is the goal of true education.Martin Luther King


A special acknowledgment to our 2015 “Dinner on the Creek” Sponsors & volunteers, they include: 

                       Platinum Sponsor
The Bank & Trust, s.s.b.  

Gold Sponsors
Border Federal Credit Union
Del Rio Ford Lincoln
John S. Graves & Associates, Inc.
Texas Community Bank

Silver Sponsors
Brown Automotive Center
City of Del Rio
Estrada Hinojosa Investment Bankers
Linebarger Googan Blair & Sampson, LLP
PBK Architecture
Silver Eagle Distributors
Schulman, Lopez & Hoffer, LLP

Bronze Sponsors
Alcoa Power & Propulsion
Amistad Consulting Services, Inc.
Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems
Edward Jones Investments, Emily Cooper
Gonzalez Auto Parts
Ortiz & Ortiz, PC
Red River Waste Solutions

AEP Texas
Amistad Dentistry
CSA Materials
Edwards-Graham Insurance Agency
Gatti’s Pizza
GEO Group
Max & Max, LLC d.b.a. Ramada
Reece Albert, Inc.
T.J. Moore Lumber Yard
Zertuche Insurance Services, Inc.

Special Volunteers & Friends
Del Rio News-Herald
San Felipe Lions Club
Oscar San Miguel, Jr.
Del Rio High School Electrical Trades students, Jim Ramos, Instructor
Del Rio High School Fine Arts performers, Juan Nanez, Director
Del Rio High School Culinary Arts students, Teresa Salinas, Instructor
Buena Vista Elementary Art students, Olga C. Gonzalez, Instructor.

Education is a human right with immense power to transform. On its foundation rest the cornerstones of freedom, democracy, & sustainable human development.Gen. Kofi Annan